Skip to main content

Faith Communities Task Force

The task force leads Action Alliance efforts to engage faith communities in suicide prevention. Accomplishments to date include the development of the Faith.Hope.Life campaign, which includes a website and many resources, and the annual National Weekend of Prayer for Faith, Hope, and Life.

Task Force Members


  • Brandon Johnson — Co-Lead, Public Sector, Public Health Advisor, Center for Mental Health Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration    
  • Melinda Moore, PhD — Co-Lead, Private Sector, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Eastern Kentucky University


  • Farha Abbasi, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, and Faculty, Muslim Studies Program, Michigan State University
  • Daniel Adams, Director of Training, Sources of Strength
  • Miriam Ament, Founder and President, No Shame on U
  • Talitha Arnold, MDiv, Senior Minister, United Church of Santa Fe
  • Glen Bloomstrom, MDiv, MS, MA; Military Director, Living Works Education & Adjunct Professor, Bethlehem College and Seminary
  • Paul Cantz, PsyD, ABPP, Associate Professor; University of Illinois at Chicago, College of Medicine; Adler University - Chicago
  • Christi Eaton, Executive Director,; Producer of Hope Bridge; Publisher of Crossing That Bridge
  • Mahira Elder, LLMSW, Muslim Family Services
  • Jeff Elhart, President and Owner, Elhart Automotive Campus
  • Efrem L. Epstein, Founder, Elijah's Journey (A Jewish Response to the Issues of Suicide Awareness and Prevention)
  • Jonah Geffen, Rabbi, Congregation Shaare Zedek, New York, NY
  • Yosef Goldman, Rabbi, Temple Beth Zion-Beth Israel
  • Ben Goldstein, Rabbi, Temple Beth El Mekor Chayim
  • Gregory Hudnall, EdD, Executive Director, Hope4Utah, Bishop, LDS Church
  • Kalman Kaplan, PhD, Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of Illinois, College of Medicine, Chicago
  • Karen Mason, PhD, LPC, Associate Professor of Counseling and Psychology, Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
  • Sherry Molock, PhD, Senior Advisor for Outreach and Engagement, National Institute for Mental Health
  • LaVonne Ortega, MD, MPH; Senior Advisor, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
  • Pamela Ovwigho, PhD, Research Director, Center for Bible Engagement
  • Joshua Rivedal, Founder and Executive Director of The i'Mpossible Project, Author, International Public Speaker
  • Shauna Springer, PhD, Senior Director, Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors Suicide Prevention and Postvention Initiatives
  • Kay Warren, Co-Founder, Saddleback Church
  • Su Yeon Lee-Tauler, Research Specialist, Education Development Center, Inc.

Stay informed about Action Alliance news, events, and updates.