Skip to main content


This subcommittee of the Workplace Task Force supports efforts to prevent suicide among individuals working in the construction industry. Accomplishments include the development of the resource A Construction Industry Blueprint: Suicide Prevention in the Workplace, and of Breaking the Silence: Suicide Prevention in the Construction Workplace (see flyer), a program aimed at addressing mental health and suicide prevention in the construction industry. The subcommittee was awarded the 2016 Gary Horizon Award for Innovation from the International Risk Management Institute (IRMI) in recognition of this work.     


  • Cal Beyer, Director of Risk Management, Lakeside Industries (Private Sector)
  • Sally Spencer-Thomas, PsyD (Private Sector)


  • Chris Carlough, Director of Education, International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail & Transportation Workers
  • Morgan Hembree, ADD
  • David James, CFO, FNF, Inc. Construction
  • Christian Moreno, ADD    
  • Bob VandePol, MSW, Executive Director, Employee Assistance Program/Church Assistance Program, Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services
  • Michelle Walker, Vice President of Finance & Administration, Specialized Services Company
  • Kyle Zimmer, Health & Safety Director and Member Assistance, International Union of Operating Engineers (Local 478)

Stay informed about Action Alliance news, events, and updates.