Skip to main content

National Response to COVID-19 Steering Committee

The National Response Steering Committee is a diverse group of senior leaders from both the public and private sectors who guide the work of the Mental Health & Suicide Prevention National Response to COVID-19 (National Response), an initiative of the National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention (Action Alliance).


  • Dr. Joshua Gordon, Director, National Institute of Mental Health (Public Sector Chair)
  • Former Congressman Patrick J. Kennedy, Founder, The Kennedy Forum (Private Sector Chair)

Steering Committee Members

  • Ms. Noopur Agarwal, Vice President of Social Impact, MTV
  • Ms. Elisa Arespacochaga, Vice President, American Hospital Association
  • Ms. Heidi Arthur, Chief Campaign Development Officer, Ad Council
  • Chief (Ret.) Terrence M. Cunningham, Deputy Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer, International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Dr. John Draper, Director, National Lifeline for Suicide Prevention, and Executive Vice President, National Networks, Vibrant Emotional Health
  • Dr. Arthur Evans, Chief Executive Officer, American Psychological Association
  • Mr. Robert Gebbia, Chief Executive Officer, American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
  • Mr. Daniel H. Gillison, Jr., Chief Executive Officer, National Alliance on Mental Illness
  • Mr. Paul Gionfriddo, Chief Executive Officer and President, Mental Health America
  • Ms. Karen Johnson, Senior Vice President, Clinical Services and Division Compliance Officer, Behavioral Health Division, Universal Health Services, Inc.
  • CAPT Christopher Jones, U.S. Public Health Service, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Dr. Mark Jones, General Director of Health and Medical Services, Union Pacific Corp.
  • Mr. Craig Kramer, Mental Health Ambassador & Chair, Global Campaign for Mental Health, Neuroscience External Affairs, Janssen R&D—a Johnson & Johnson company
  • Dr. Charles Lattarulo, Global Director, Healthy Minds, American Express
  • Mr. John MacPhee, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, The Jed Foundation
  • Mr. David McFarland, Chief Executive Officer, DLM Entertainment Group / DLM Impact Partners
  • Dr. Richard McKeon, Chief Suicide Prevention Branch, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
  • Dr. Benjamin F. Miller, Chief Strategy Officer, Well Being Trust
  • Dr. Matthew Miller, Director for Suicide Prevention, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Dr. Nyaka NiiLampti, Vice President, Wellness and Clinical Services, National Football League
  • Mr. Amit Paley, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, The Trevor Project
  • Mr. Rajeev Ramchand, Senior Behavioral Scientist, RAND Corporation
  • Dr. Jerry Reed, Senior Vice President for Practice Leadership, Education Development Center
  • Ms. Linda Rosenberg, Director of External Relations, Department of Psychiatry, Columbia University
  • CAPT Scott Salvatore, U.S. Public Health Service, Lead, Psychological Health, Office of the Chief Human Capital Officer, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Mr. Russell Sanders, Director, National Fire Protection Association
  • Ms. Dena Trujillo, Interim CEO, Crisis Text Line
  • Dr. Barbara Van Dahlen, Executive Director, PREVENTS Executive Order Task Force
  • Dr. Janet S. Wright, Director of Science and Policy, Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Stay informed about Action Alliance news, events, and updates.